Flowers for Me

I could always hear him climbing up to my window
At first I would become startled with the fear of some looming vagabond coming for me into the night

Yet Upon seeing his eyes
Fear vanished
And hope appeared
An unexpected happiness came over me
Something I never recognized from before
Beautiful flowers
Luscious colors of red
So deep and ripe
With scents too wonderful to describe

He was lively and peaceful all at once
All I could do was gape
The moment accelerated as I attempted to reach out for him
As if reaching for my fate

He soon was gone
And the flowers remain
I carry them with me everywhere
Into every room they have been
Hopeful he will visit me once again

By Elizabeth Mendiola
Copyright 2014

Your comments or thoughts

