How I Love You

You before me
Count to three and you’ll see

Exhausted
But still walking and working

Hungry
But I’ll go without so you can have

Running and breathing
Hoping you will one day see me

For all I have sacrificed
For the loves of my life

I sit
Cry
And hurt

Confused
Sad
Unsure

But I know I give my all
I know my heart can fall

I give you all I have
Can’t you see?
I have been mom and dad

My tears are foreign
I don’t like how they feel
They weigh more than melted steel

I love you
And you are mine

Through blood and earth
I’ll never stop living and loving you

But I’m not a savior
Nor a pitted doormat

I’m the one who brought you to life
A choice I made
Long ago

Wake up
Live
Do right

I will still be here
All through the night

By Elizabeth Mendiola
Copyright 2014

Your comments or thoughts

