Shoe Box

Pictures and gleams
Truth which beams
Lovely smiles
The best balance of my life
I pull you out
And hold you up
I wish I could forever drink you
Out of this cup
I miss those days
And want them back
But they’re all wrapped up
In a cozy sack
You are my light
My gaze and glory
Good enough for this mom
Who is nearing her forty
I pull you out
And hold you up
At least once a day
I keep the feeling
From going astray
Jumping hearts
Ones that frolic
I hold you closer
Than a man
With his gold wallet
Everyday
You are
My daily bread
I keep you near
Close
Held tightly
You
My best shade of red
My endless and beautiful pier

By Elizabeth Mendiola
Copyright 2014

Your comments or thoughts

