Peacock

Image

(Image credit: Jenni Greene, redbubble.com)

Peacock

With your lively colors of blue and green
Tell me, what causes you to dream?

Do the coo’s of the sad fellow bring you down?
Is this the reason for your frown?

Will you show me how you light up the sky?
I too have been afraid to fly.

Yet now I see
I see you so clearly
Your bravery and charm
You fail to realize how you have me by the arm

So sad and true
I’ve found you have no faith in you
You tell me to stop — and then go
Please, make up your mind
For we are running out of time

I will no longer wait for you
The flame has become dark
I believe I now see you over there, with a lark

By Elizabeth Mendiola
Copyright 2013

Your comments or thoughts

